Just another wannabe author…

NaNoWriMo?

So, while stalking… I mean trolling some of my favorite blogs by writers, I came across something fabulous.  Not your normal “oh, this is something I loved reading and will forever and ever keep in mind” but rather a “OMG I NEED!”  Yes, I squeed and got all super excited.  My son thought I went crazy, my online friends giggled behind their computer screens.

What is this wonderfulness, you might just ask.  Well, fear not, for I shall tell you.  I found NaNoWriMo.

It is a bunch of randomly capitalized little letters.  And so…. much…. more.

NaNoWriMo is a challenge.

NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month.  The challenge is to write a fifty thousand word novel in 30 days, starting on November 1, 2011 and running through the month.

NaNoWriMo is a forum filled with other wanna be writers all doing this crazy stunt together for a month.  It is information overload.  Help to get you through those little lumps and bumps that are part of spewing vomit from your fingertips into something you affectionately like to call your manuscript.

So, of course, I felt the need to immediately join up and pledge to write those words in that time limit… completely forgetting I haven’t finished my current work in progress.  Completely ignoring the fact that I HAVE NO FREAKING IDEA WHAT I WILL WRITE ABOUT.

So, now I have two weeks to do two things.  I need to finish my current story, god willing, and I need to come up with something new to write.  Go me!!

Leave a Reply

