Just another wannabe author…

Elusive Endings

It is day 22 of NaNoWriMo and I am up to 62,000 words.  I’m at that strange part of a novel where the ending seems no closer than it did.  It’s like a never ending hallway that keeps getting longer and longer as I pass door after door.

The weird part is that it still feels like it’s going great.  I love my characters, they’ve come to life better than I could have imagined.  I have the vicious killing of a character I don’t like to look forward to.  Everything is coming together beautifully and the words flow like water.

There is just this sense of futility developing.  This sense that the ending isn’t getting closer as my word count climbs.  I want to get to the ending.  I really really do.  I want it to be a major climax.  I want to actually be able to think about it, rather than my subconscious hiding it away so I can’t even write it into my notes.

Stupid subconscious.

Leave a Reply

