Just another wannabe author…

So, I did something seriously stupid.  It was something I knew not to do.  I knew it was going to screw with my momentum and I did it anyway.  I was a moron.

So, I was talking to someone, told them I was a writer, and, unsurprisingly, they wanted to read something of mine.

So, what did I do?  Did I give them a short story?  Did I give them part of my last NaNo?  No, I gave them a chapter of my work in progress.  I asked her not to give any notes on it, explained why I couldn’t discuss it.  She said ok… and…

SHE TOLD ME I NEEDED TO CHANGE THE PERSPECTIVE.

Now, I have been writing in first person for a reason.  I think it fits the feel of the piece.  But none of that matters.  She told me I should change it and I freaked.  I could no longer write.  I was frozen with indecision.  It doesn’t matter that I have no plans to change the perspective, I just can’t write on that WIP.  Which sucks.  I need to finish it.

Which brings me to my next point.  Camp!

Yes, Camp.  Not just any camp though, Camp NaNoWriMo!  A wonderful magical month of writing abandon that isn’t November.  I am gearing up to start on June 1st.

And I am going to be a rebel.  Yes, just call me Maverick.  I am going to continue working on that rewrite I’m so freaked about the perspective of.  With the pressures of NaNo shoving me forward, all the dramatics in the world wont keep me from finishing it.  I’ve even picked my prize for winning.  Nicole Peeler‘s newest Jane True will be out on June 26th.  I only get to buy it if I finish!  Oh lawd, I’m in trouble.  I WANT that book.

Now I just have to get my head back in the game and actually write what I’m supposed to be writing instead of waffling all over the place.  No, not asking the world, am I?

Leave a Reply

